The Secular Humanists of the Lowcountry
Home About Join / Donate Families Newsletter Discussion More


Please consider joining the SHL. Membership in this organization is open to all persons who support the purposes for which this organization is founded. The available membership levels and corresponding dues are:
  • Individual - New Member $35.00
  • Family - New Member $50.00
  • Individual/Family - Sustaining $100.00
  • Individual/Family - Benefactor $150.00
  • Individual/Family - Lifetime $500.00
If you are a New Member and your payment is received January through August, it will apply toward the current calendar year's dues. If payment is received September through December your membership will be paid through the following calendar year. Renewing Members' dues will always apply toward the current year with dues again requested in January.

The dues are tax-deductible, as we are a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation. (As we like to joke, we are also a "non-prophet" organization!) There are two ways to join/renew:

  1. By Mail: Send a check for your dues made out to "Secular Humanists of the Lowcountry" along with a letter stating your name, your address and (if possible) a phone number and e-mail address to

    Post Office Box 32256

    Charleston, SC 29417

  2. Electronic Payment: You can now join or renew your SHL membership securely online. You do not need a Paypal account to pay using a major credit card. Be sure to select the proper membership level from the drop-down box.

    Membership Level

Stipends Available for SHL Members

To encourage participation at atheist/humanist conventions and summer camps, the SHL board is offering a limited number of stipends to reimburse costs for members. Click here to learn more and apply now!

Donate Online

For those who wish to contribute more than just membership dues or who wish to make a donation without joining, you can also use this form to make a donation of any amount to SHL.

Need help with this? Write to with questions about new or existing membership.

Webmaster: Alex Kasman 2014